It’s Time for My Great Rides

      Last Saturday I wrote about great rides recommended by the writer of an article in Delta’s Sky magazine; in that post, I mentioned that I’ve taken some of the ones listed, but I would add a few more of my own.  Well, here they are (in no particular order)!

       Lombard Street in San Francisco, the “Crookedest Street in the World.”  I’ve driven down (it’s a one-way street) and seen Lombard Street many times, and I still love it!  With hairpin turns and a steep downward slope, it’s very unique, even though I’m sure the residents hate it.  But combine it with the extreme slope of nearby Jones Street (it’s reportedly less than 30 degrees, but feels more like 50) and the incredible view from the Coit Tower, and it doesn’t get much better than this!

       The Great Ocean Road near Melbourne, Australia (see – I’m a pretty global guy!).  When I was in Melbourne on business about 10 years ago, some friends and I had a driver take us on a trip along this road.  Great views, great surf, and even great shopping – it’s a treat!

       The highway between Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks in Wyoming.  I’ve traveled this a couple of times – first with my family when I was in my teens, and then with my wife when we lived in Colorado Springs.  The prairie dog colonies, combined with the majestic view of the Tetons, make it an unforgettable experience.

       Finally – and I guess this is my favorite – is Tantalus Drive/Roundtop Drive above Honolulu.  The drive is good, but it’s not the destination.  The real gem here – which most visitors to Oahu never get to see – is Pu’u ‘Ualaka’a State Wayside park at the top of Mount Tantalus.  It offers a sweeping view of Diamond Head, Waikiki, and Honolulu – and you can also see the Punchbowl Cemetery and even up to Pearl Harbor.  Outstanding! 

       So there they are – my great drives.  Although my definition may be a little different that that of the Sky writer, that doesn’t matter.  They’re still relaxing, enjoying, and inspirational…

       What are yours?

Feel free to leave a comment, and please come back often – I write and post every day!  And if you like what I have to say and how I say it, you’ll probably enjoy my novels as well.  They’re listed below, and you can read more about them on my website, http://www.randolphmase.com.  In the near future, I’ll have excerpts of my books that you can read, accessible on my site.  Please check it out! 

And to view updated blogs in real-time, go to http://alphainventions.com or http://blogiche.com – they’re both great sites! 

Randolph Mase, Fiction Writer

http://www.randolphmase.com

http://twitter.com/randolphmase 

My Novels:

Death on Broadway

Death Beneath the Streets

Death in Central Park 

Death in The Cloisters (under construction)

Nathan Hale

2 Responses to “It’s Time for My Great Rides”

  1. Lindsey Says:

    Wow, I was trying to find the name of that street and you have lead me to the answer! What a gorgeous shot. All the best to YOU!

    Lindsey

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 21,894 other followers

