Palisades Amusement Park

palisades-park

You may know that this was a very popular amusement park located atop the Palisades in Fort Lee, New Jersey – across the Hudson River from New York City.

 

      You probably don’t know that PalisadesPark opened in 1898 as a trolley park to promote use of the trolley between the Edgewater ferry and the top of the Palisades.  Amusement rides and attractions were added beginning in 1908, and the park went through several name changes over the years, settling on its final name in 1934.  Unlike most amusement parks today, PalisadesPark charged an entrance fee as well as fees for most rides and attractions.  During the 1960s, it became a very popular park – many referred to it as the Disneyland of the East – but the facility could not handle the crowds, leading to endless congestion.  Because of this, the park closed in 1971.   One of my personal memories is not a very positive one…I remember visiting with some high school friends and gorging myself on cotton candy.  Shortly after that, I made the mistake of taking a ride on their wooden roller coaster, the Cyclone.  Bad move, as I later got sick…and I have not eaten cotton candy since!

 

Tip:  Again, I don’t have one here.  The grounds of the former PalisadesPark is now occupied by high rise apartment buildings.

 

Please feel free to leave a comment, and please come back!

 

Randolph Mase, Fiction Writer

http://www.randolphmase.com

 

My Novels:

Death on Broadway

Death Beneath the Streets

Death in Central Park

Nathan Hale

4 Responses to “Palisades Amusement Park”

  1. Al Says:

    Hello Randolph, Thanks for the info and photo. I had worked for the park the every last year. I was just 14 years old. (I lied about my age to get the job.) This was probably my best memory to date. I was devesated when they announced the closing. I rode the cyclone many a time and glad to say I held my cotton candy. Best of luck to you.
    Al N

  2. Eddie Gomez Says:

    My parents took me there when I was a child. I remember winning one of the goldfish in the colored water. I was so excited – it’s a shame that they closed.

Leave a Reply

