Blogging Tip #20 – More on Getting Quality Followers on Twitter

       I mentioned in an earlier tip a couple of things I look at when I try to get followers on Twitter, specifically people with similar interests as mine and people who live in or near my niche location (New York City).  

       When I follow people on Twitter (in other words, also trying to get them to follow me), I use the Find People feature, then Browse Interests, and select Books (obviously, you should select the category that’s closest to your niche).  In addition to location, there are several other things I pay attention to:   

     – Language.  While it may be great to have followers in many other countries, it may not help you attract more followers.  If someone posts their Tweets in a language other than English, chances are good that that person may not speak English fluently, so I don’t follow.

     – I follow only people who have Tweeted recently (their latest Tweet is shown when you look at a list of those who follow others).  If a Tweet doesn’t appear, that person has most likely not logged in to Twitter recently, and they probably won’t see your follow request.

     – Finally, I look at what the person does.  In my case, I’m interested in anyone related to books – writing, editing, publishing, critiquing, even reading.  I avoid connecting with those in vastly unrelated fields such as sports, cooking, and real estate. 

       The 20 tips I’ve published are things that have worked for me.  They may not work for you, but I encourage you to experiment with your blog, and to most of all have some fun! 

Feel free to leave a comment, and please come back often – I write and post every day!  And if you like what I have to say and how I say it, you’ll probably enjoy my novels as well.  They’re listed below, and you can read more about them on my website, http://www.randolphmase.com.  In the near future, I’ll have excerpts of my books that you can read, accessible on my site.  Please check it out! 

Randolph Mase, Fiction Writer

http://www.randolphmase.com

http://twitter.com/randolphmase 

My Novels:

Death on Broadway

Death Beneath the Streets

Death in Central Park 

Death in The Cloisters (under construction)

Nathan Hale

Leave a Reply

