Places Under Harry Potter’s Spell

       As you may have been able to tell if you’ve read my blog, I am a fan of the Harry Potter series.  In fact, I’ve read all of the books and seen all of the movies, and I have great admiration for J.K. Rowling’s imagination. 

       I read a recent article in USA Today about 10 spots in the Harry Potter films that are real locations.  Here they are, as well as the scene they provide in the films: 

  1. King’s Cross Station in London – where they catch the train to Hogwarts (remember Platform 9¾?)
  2. Alnwick Castle in Northumberland, England – where Harry took his first ride on a broomstick
  3. Glenfinnan Viaduct in Lochaber, Scotland – where the Dementors stopped the Hogwarts Express, giving Harry some trouble
  4. The Millennium Bridge in London – which the Death Eaters brought down in the Half-Blood Prince
  5. University of Oxford – the inspiration for the Great Hall, where the Hogwarts students dine
  6. Lacock Abbey in Wiltshire, England – featuring many of the classrooms in the Potter films
  7. Freshwater West Beach in Pembrokeshire, Wales – the Shell Cottage in Deathly Hallows was here
  8. Glen Coe in Glencoe, Scotland – used as a backdrop in The Prisoner of Azkaban and later films
  9. Gloucester Cathedral in Gloucester, England – where Harry and Ron save Hermione from a giant troll
  10. Loch Arkaig in Lochaber, Scotland – used for scenes in Half-Blood Prince.

       A pretty good list, really.  We visited Great Britain 20 years ago; maybe on our next visit, we’ll try to see some of these spots…  

Feel free to leave a comment, and please come back often – I write and post every day!  And if you like what I have to say and how I say it, you’ll probably enjoy my novels as well.  They’re listed below, and you can read more about them on my website, http://www.randolphmase.com.  In the near future, I’ll have excerpts of my books that you can read, accessible through my site.  Please check it out!   

And to view updated blogs in real-time, go to http://alphainventions.com or http://blogiche.com – they’re both great sites! 

Randolph Mase, Fiction Writer

http://www.randolphmase.com

http://twitter.com/randolphmase 

My Novels:

Death on Broadway

Death Beneath the Streets

Death in Central Park

Death in The Cloisters (under construction)

Nathan Hale

2 Responses to “Places Under Harry Potter’s Spell”

  1. Lara Says:

    Hi. First I have to say that I’m German. So I’m sorry for every mistake… 😉
    I’m glad you wrote this article about the places where the Harry Potter films were made. I want to visit all of them on my next trip to the UK.
    Until this text and some others I thaught somewhere in the UK there’s a castle which is the Hogwarts of the HP films but now I know: I have to visit many places to see Hagwarts… );
    But thank you! Now I can plan my UK-trip.
    Lara : *

Leave a Reply

