A Flattering Experience for a Writer

       I recently had the kind of experience that any aspiring author, fledgling author, or published part-time author (like me) would cherish.  More established authors – such as Twain, Hemingway, Steinbeck, Michener, and King – may try to avoid such situations, but not me.  Let me explain… 

       A few days ago I conducted a training class (part of my full time job as a trainer) on time management.  At the beginning we talked about setting goals as the basis for setting priorities, and to get the conversation going, I told the group that I write fiction as a hobby, have published four novels, and that one of my goals is to have a bestseller.

       After the full-day class, as I was relaxing in my seat (training/teaching can be truly exhausting!), one of the class participants approached me.  She confirmed with me that I indeed had published novels, and asked what type of novels they were.  When I responded that they were mostly murder mysteries, she said that she loved mysteries and asked me how to get more information about my books.  When I wrote my website on a piece of paper, she exclaimed, “That’s you?”  I responded that it was, and asked her how she knew that.  “Murders in New York!” she exclaimed.  “Have you read them?” I asked.  She told me that she had bought and read my first novel, Death on Broadway, and loved it!  Wow.  I was flattered, so I offered to give her one of my other books (which I always carry with me on trips – business or pleasure), and I handed her a copy of Death Beneath the Streets.  She asked me if I would sign it.  And of course, I said I would be honored to sign it, to which she said she’s honored.

       I signed it, gave it to her, and thanked her for being a fan.  She smiled and walked away as if I had given her a thousand dollars.  Even though I’m a writer, I cannot describe my intense feelings at that time.  All I can say to her is thank you, Crystal, for reading my work and for making my week; I am humbled…

Feel free to leave a comment, and please come back often – I write and post every day!  And if you like what I have to say and how I say it, you’ll probably enjoy my novels as well.  They’re listed below, and you can read more about them on my website, http://www.randolphmase.com.  In the near future, I’ll have excerpts of my books that you can read, accessible through my site.  Please check it out!   

And to view updated blogs in real-time, go to http://alphainventions.com or http://blogiche.com – they’re both great sites! 

Randolph Mase, Fiction Writer

http://www.randolphmase.com

http://twitter.com/randolphmase

My Novels:

Death on Broadway

Death Beneath the Streets

Death in Central Park

Death in The Cloisters (under construction)

Nathan Hale

Leave a Reply

