America’s Worst Restaurants

       Now for the bad news, folk – a recent issue of Men’s Health magazine featured a listing of America’s Best & Worst Restaurants 2011, based on the health value of meals served at various restaurant chains.  I started with the good news a couple of days ago – the best restaurants.  Now for the others, and the comments come from the magazine, not me…

  1. Seafood – Long John Silver’s, where almost everything is fried in soybean oil
  2. Sandwich – Quiznos, where more than half of the regular size sandwiches have more than 500 calories each
  3. Chicken – Church’s Chicken, where you can get almost 1200 calories in a half dozen BBQ wings and fries
  4. Pizza – California Pizza Kitchen, where healthy-sounding salads and pastas can actually carry lots of calories
  5. Italian – Olive Garden, with oversized portions and unlimited salad and breadsticks
  6. Breakfast – IHOP, with abundant meats and rich sauces on almost every order
  7. Mexican – On the Border, which serves breaded fish, fried tortillas, and creamy sauces
  8. Chinese – P.F. Chang’s, where it’s difficult to find an entrée with less than 600 calories
  9. Burger – Dairy Queen, with lots of fat and calories in many of their meals
  10. Family Restaurant – Cheesecake Factory, with only 4 entrées specifically marked as “Healthy.”  [Years ago, they offered a Caesar Salad Pasta that I thought was out of this world; I’m glad I didn’t look at the caloric content then!]

       Personally, I enjoy eating at half of these places – I haven’t tried the others – and probably will continue to do so…

Feel free to leave a comment, and please come back often – I write and post every day!  And if you like what I have to say and how I say it, you’ll probably enjoy my novels as well.  They’re listed below, and you can read more about them on my improved website, designed and built by my son Don, http://www.randolphmase.com.  On my site, you’ll also find excerpts of my books that you can read – please check it out! 

And to view updated blogs in real-time, go to http://alphainventions.com or http://blogiche.com – they’re both great sites! 

Randolph Mase, Fiction Writer

http://www.randolphmase.com

http://twitter.com/randolphmase 

My Novels:

Death on Broadway

Death Beneath the Streets

Death in Central Park

Death in The Cloisters (under construction) 

Nathan Hale

Leave a Reply

