“the 50 things we love about New York!”

       According to Duane Reade, anyway.  Duane Reade is a well-known name to New Yorkers.  For those of you not familiar with it, the company started with a drugstore that opened in 1960 on Broadway between Duane and Reade Streets in Manhattan.  Today, they operate more than 250 stores in the greater New York area, and many think of them as “New York’s Drugstore.”

       A couple of weeks ago, my wife and I visited one of their midtown stores with multiple floors.  On the wall by the escalator we saw a mural called “the 50 things we love about New York!”  It really caught our attention, and as I read the mural, I found myself nodding my head in agreement.  You may also find the things interesting, and even useful if you plan a visit, so I’ll share them here in several posts, along with some of my thoughts: 

  1. More diversity than any city in the world [some experts believe that more than 800 languages are spoken in New York City!]
  2. Buggy rides in the Park [we took one many years ago, and it’s a unique – but expensive – experience]
  3. The Pizza [I’ve never found better thin crust pizza…anywhere!]
  4. Seven pro sports teams and the US Open [I actually count 9 – Yankees, Mets, Giants, Jets, Knicks, Nets, Rangers, Islanders, and Devils – but only 7 are called “New York,” and only 5 actually play in New York City.  So pick a number.]
  5. Broadway, off-Broadway, and off-off-Broadway [We’ve been to shows in each of these categories, and have enjoyed all of them]
  6. Radio City Music Hall and the Rockettes [I’ve seen the Christmas Spectacular several times, and even went there on a field trip in junior high school to see a movie]
  7. Restaurant Week [it’s held in Summer and Winter, and I’ve written about it several times]
  8. Free movies in Bryant Park [see my August 9 post from last year; occasionally, Broadway performances are offered as well]
  9. The Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island [I haven’t been to Ellis Island recently, but the Statue of Liberty is worth the trip!]
  10. Prospect Park [check out my September 8 post from last year!]

       More to come…

Feel free to leave a comment, and please come back often – I write and post every day!  And if you like what I have to say and how I say it, you’ll probably enjoy my novels as well.  They’re listed below, and you can read more about them on my improved website, designed and built by my son Don, http://www.randolphmase.com.  On my site, you’ll also find excerpts of my books that you can read – please check it out! 

And to view updated blogs in real-time, go to http://alphainventions.com or http://blogiche.com – they’re both great sites! 

Randolph Mase, Fiction Writer

http://www.randolphmase.com

http://twitter.com/randolphmase 

My Novels:

Death on Broadway

Death Beneath the Streets

Death in Central Park

Death in The Cloisters (under construction)

Nathan Hale

2 Responses to ““the 50 things we love about New York!””

  1. helen Says:

    I saw this too and it struck my eye. Ironically, my son and I had just come back from the U.S.S. Intrepid, which was listed as one of the top 50 things! Strangely, I think I will use Duane Reade’s top 50 as my must hit before I leave NYC (soon hopefully) guide.
    Thanks for posting.

Leave a Reply

