5 Things You May Not Know About Randolph Mase

You may not want to know or may not care, but that’s another issue…

       I noticed a headline the other day on msn.com that had something to do with 5 things you probably don’t know about Natalie Portman.  So I figured why not?  Let me share some little-known (I think) things about me with you.  So here goes:

1.  I climbed Pike’s Peak, which overlooks Colorado Springs, twice!  (Okay, so I used a car.)

2.  Genealogy is my other hobby.  I love writing – both this blog and my novels – and I also love finding out about my ancestors.  While I’ll never be featured on Who Do You Think You Are?, I just take great satisfaction in the research and discoveries.  In fact, I’ve traced a few of my lines back as far as the 14th Century.  Above is a photo of my grandfather, Lyman Peter Mase, when he was 20 years old.  I never knew him, though; he passed away a dozen years before I was born.

3.  I’ve visited all 50 of the United States, starting with New York, and ending with Alaska.  And every one has something unique to offer!

4.  I climbed Diamond Head crater three times, and each time without a car!  Many people don’t realize that you can drive inside this landmark in Hawaii and walk a trail that climbs 560 feet in less than a mile, up to a summit that provides great views of Honolulu on one side, and Koko Head crater on the other.

5.  I’m a grandfather.  (Okay, so you already know this if you’ve been reading my blog.)  But who can resist the big guy?  Here he is at dinner on Christmas Eve.

       So now you know a little more about me…

Feel free to leave a comment, and please come back often – I write and post every day!  And if you like what I have to say and how I say it, you’ll probably enjoy my novels as well.  They’re listed below, and you can read more about them on my improved website, designed and built by my son Don, http://www.randolphmase.com.  On my site, you’ll also find excerpts of my books that you can read – please check it out! 

And to view updated blogs in real-time, go to http://refzip.com or http://kadency.com – they’re both great sites! 

Randolph Mase, Fiction Writer

http://www.randolphmase.com

http://twitter.com/randolphmase

My Novels:

Death on Broadway

Death Beneath the Streets

Death in Central Park 

Death in The Cloisters (under construction)

Nathan Hale

One Response to “5 Things You May Not Know About Randolph Mase”

  1. Kathleen J. H. Wheeler Says:

    Given your interest in genealogy, I am interested in seeing if you can help me. I am trying to track down information on Mary McCracken who married Robert Henry Tullis. I believe she may be your great grandmother and her sister, Margaret, is my husband’s great grandmother. I am trying to find more information on Margaret and Mary’s family and have had some limited success on our trips to Ireland. My husband’s grandfather, William John Duke, is listed in the 1900 census as a resident in the home of Robert and Mary Tullis. Based on the census, Mary was naturalized sometime between 1900 and 1910. Robert died during that time. Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Leave a Reply

