Bring on the Lookalike Movies: Is Hollywood Losing Its Creative Touch? – Part 2

       Last week I wrote about the tendency of Hollywood creators to remake movies, some of them even classics. 

       My wife and I recently watched the movie No Strings Attached, and she remarked that it was just like Friends With Benefits, which had been released only 7 months earlier.  That reminded me of an article I recently saw in New York magazine about that exact subject; the article was titled, “Didn’t I Already See This Movie?”  It listed these pairs of lookalike films that have been released within a year of each other.  I’ve started with those that were released closest to each other, and have also indicated the year and number of days separating each pair; the box-office winner of each pair is listed first: 

  • A Bug’s Life and Antz – 1998, 49 days
  • Armageddon and Deep Impact – 1998, 54 days
  • Dante’s Peak and Volcano – 1997, 77 days
  • The Haunting and House on Haunted Hill – 1999, 98 days
  • Tombstone and Wyatt Earp – 1993-94, 181 days
  • Troy and Alexander – 2004, 194 days
  • Mission to Mars and Red Planet – 2000, 245 days
  • Save the Last Dance and Center Stage – 2000-01, 245 days

       I seriously doubt that creators in different studios coincidentally had the same idea at the same time, so what was it?  Espionage?  Fierce competition in the industry?  Perhaps a little bit of both… 

Feel free to leave a comment, and please come back often – I write and post every day!  And ifyou like what I have to say and how I say it, you’ll probably enjoy my novels as well.  They’re listed below, and you can read more about them on my improved website, designed and built by my son Don, http://www.randolphmase.com.  On my site, you’ll also find excerpts of my books that you can read – please check it out!  

And to view updated blogs in real-time, go to http://plugalink.com or http://kadency.com – they’re both great sites! 

RandolphMase, Fiction Writer

http://www.randolphmase.com

http://twitter.com/randolphmase 

My Novels:

Death on Broadway

Death Beneath the Streets

Death in Central Park

Death in The Cloisters (under construction)

Nathan Hale

2 Responses to “Bring on the Lookalike Movies: Is Hollywood Losing Its Creative Touch? – Part 2”

  1. end of the world Says:

    armageddon 2012…

    […]Bring on the Lookalike Movies: Is Hollywood Losing Its Creative Touch? – Part 2 « Randolph Mase’s Weblog[…]…

  2. Gosip Artis Says:

    blog artis…

    […]Bring on the Lookalike Movies: Is Hollywood Losing Its Creative Touch? – Part 2 « Randolph Mase’s Weblog[…]…

Leave a Reply

