More October Snow!

 

      A couple of years ago I wrote about encountering snow while driving to Philadelphia on an October afternoon.  But now Mother Nature has outdone herself.  

       Last weekend (October 29, to be precise), a winter storm hit New York and the rest of the Northeast.  Three things made it particularly challenging:

  • The large amount of snow – we had about a foot, as you can see from the second photo above – after the storm (the first photo is during the storm, of course).
  • The snow coming while trees still had leaves on them – the weight of the leaves and the snow combined was too much for many trees, resulting in many broken branches and fallen trees.
  • These fallen branches and trees landed on electric power lines, leaving many without electricity – we had no power for about 12 hours, and no water for 2 days.  It really makes you realize how much we take for granted.  But it could have been worse – a coworker of mine still had no water, power, or heat 6 days after the storm!

       I shudder to think what the rest of the winter is going to bring… 

Feel free to leave a comment, and please come back often – I write and post every day!  And if you like what I have to say and how I say it, you’ll probably enjoy my novels as well.  They’re listed below, and you can read more about them on my improved website, designed and built by my son Don, http://www.randolphmase.com.  On my site, you’ll also find excerpts of my books that you can read – please check it out!  

And to view updated blogs in real-time, go to http://plugalink.com or http://kadency.com – they’re both great sites! 

RandolphMase, Fiction Writer

http://www.randolphmase.com

http://twitter.com/randolphmase 

My Novels:

Death on Broadway

Death Beneath the Streets

Death in Central Park

Death in The Cloisters (under construction)

Nathan Hale

2 Responses to “More October Snow!”

  1. Dino Del Giudice Says:

    Dear Mr. Mase, I write you from Italy, city of Massa (MS), in Tuscany, after I have read your story about Mamma Leone’s Restaurant in New York City. So, some evenings ago I was at dinner with Andrea Leone, nephew of Luisa Leone. He said more things about his Family, also the story of that american restaurant and my curiosity brings me to do an Internet research. With success, I found your article and now I ask you if is possible for you send me some other informations about it. Is still open? Some of the Leone’s family is working there? Please, write me and I’ll send you the Italian part of this interesting history. (I’m not on Twetter or Face book, sorry) Thanks for all. Dino.

Leave a Reply

