Toys R Us to Close FAO Schwarz Store

FAO Schwarz

When I saw that headline in the newspaper last week, I almost freaked. “It can’t be – that’s a NYC institution!” However, as often happens, things are not always what they appear to be. Upon reading the article, I discovered that Toys R Us, the parent company, is merely closing the current store due to high rents on Fifth Avenue, and is looking for another location in midtown Manhattan. So don’t panic; FAO Schwarz will still be with us. But if you want to see the current location which has been its home since 1986, hurry, as it closes July 15!

Feel free to leave a comment, and please come back – I write and post often! And if you like what I have to say and how I say it, you’ll probably enjoy my novels as well. They’re listed below, and you can read more about them on my improved website, designed and built by my son Don, http://www.randolphmase.com. On my site, you’ll also find excerpts of my books that you can read – please check it out!

Randolph Mase, Fiction Writer

http://www.randolphmase.com

http://www.facebook.com/randolphmase

http://www.facebook.com/MatthewHoganMysteries

http://twitter.com/randolphmase

My Novels:

Death on Broadway

Death Beneath the Streets

Death in Central Park

Death at the Cloisters (just published!)

Death Inside Diamond Head (under construction)

Nathan Hale

4 Responses to “Toys R Us to Close FAO Schwarz Store”

  1. laurascrochetedgifts Says:

    I went to New York on a school trip in high school. Of course we went to FAO Schwarz!

  2. heiditassone Says:

    I was sad when they changed locations back then. When I was a kid they were a few blocks from there and that store was so original. A beautiful curved staircase. the bottom level was lined with exquisite dolls, upstairs trains circled, toys everywhere. No commercial toys like now. All very unique, mostly imported from other places. It was a magical wonderland for a little girl, or boy. Then in the eighties they went bigger and brought the commercial toys in. By then I was to old to play with toys, but still loved the experience of looking around with my Dad. My Dad was never to old to play with toys, God rest his soul. It’s sad.
    Heidi

Leave a Reply

