Happy New Year!

New Year's Eve 2

So here we are, 2017.  It seems that every year I’ve said, “I can’t believe how fast this year is going!”  And 2016 is no exception.  Overall, it was a very good year that included selling and buying a new house, and I’m confident that 2017 will bring more of the same.  My wife and I had our usual New Year’s Eve activity – stay at home, enjoy a great meal of beef fondue, and watch the celebrations, particularly the ball drop at Times Square, a mere 60 miles from our former house.  Actually, I’ve never really had the desire to go there in person.  Being squeezed in with more than a quarter million other people (the official estimates the past few years have been much higher) doesn’t really appeal to me.  A friend of mine did brave it once, but the best way.  It was for New Year’s Eve in 1999 (ushering in 2000, which I really don’t think was the true Millennium – that came a year later).  Anyway, she had entered a lottery to reserve a room at the Marriott Marquis (right in Times Square), and her number was picked.  Further, she was able to garner a corner room overlooking the activity in Times Square.  The room was expensive, but she shared it with some 5-6 other people, making the cost much more manageable.  Now, that’s the way to do it!  And this year, for the first time, the ball stayed on the pole the entire year…presumably in an attempt to attract more tourists.  As if Times Square really needs that; there have been many occasions in which I’ve found it difficult enough to navigate my way through the area!

In case you’re curious, the ball is 12 feet in diameter and weighs almost 6 tons.  It’s covered with almost 3,000 Waterford crystal triangles, with the new patterns representing friends holding hands for this year’s theme of Let There Be Friendship, and the lighting is provided by more than 30,000 LEDs in red, blue, green, and white.  Just for comparison, the first ball in 1907 was made of iron and wood, was lighted by one hundred 25-watt light bulbs, had a diameter of 5 feet, and weighed less than half a ton…quite a difference!

If you can’t make it to Times Square tonight (or if you’re like me and you don’t want to make it), you can watch it live at http://www.timessquarenyc.org/, starting just before 6pm tonight.  Happy New Year!

Feel free to leave a comment, and please come back – I write and post often!  And if you like what I have to say and how I say it, you’ll probably enjoy my novels as well.  They’re listed below, and you can read more about them on my improved website, designed and built by my son Don, http://www.randolphmase.com.  On my site, you’ll also find excerpts of my books that you can read – please check it out!

Randolph Mase, Fiction Writer

http://www.randolphmase.com

http://www.facebook.com/randolphmase

http://www.facebook.com/MatthewHoganMysteries

http://twitter.com/randolphmase

My Novels:

Death on Broadway

Death Beneath the Streets

Death in Central Park

Death at The Cloisters

Death Inside Diamond Head (under construction)

Nathan Hale

2 Responses to “Happy New Year!”

  1. laurascrochetedgifts Says:

    Happy New Year!

  2. Jack Says:

    Happy New Year, Kathy and Randy!!!

Leave a Reply

