Today is Easter, a Christian Holy Day

I wrote this post last Easter about my ancestors who were religious leaders.  This Christian Holy Day is an appropriate day to repost it.

 

  1. Reverend John Rogers 1506-1555, 10th Great grandfather, charged with heresy by the Church of England for his Separatist beliefs and was burned at the stake during the reign of Queen Mary I (known as Bloody Mary)
  2. Reverend John Lathrop 1584-1653 (shown above), 9th Great grandfather, also charged with heresy by the Church of England for his Separatist beliefs and exiled from England. He escaped with his family on a ship bound for America minutes before the Archbishop of Canterbury’s men arrived at his house to arrest him.
  3. Deacon Richard Platt 1603-1684, 8th Great grandfather
  4. Deacon Stephen Hart 1605-1683, 9th Great grandfather, arrived in Boston in 1632 then moved west and bought land at a low point of the Connecticut River which enabled crossing. The area was known as Hart’s Ford, later becoming Hartford.
  5. Reverend Obadiah Holmes 1607-1682, 8th Great grandfather
  6. Reverend Abraham Pierson 1609-1678, 9th Great grandfather, arrived in Boston in 1640 and later led his congregation to New Jersey, founding Newark in 1666.
  7. Deacon Pierre Montfort 1616-1661, 8th Great grandfather
  8. Deacon Willem van Couwenhoven 1636-1728, 7th Great Grandfather
  9. Reverend Richard Henderson 1689-1769, 6th Great Grandfather

While I haven’t discovered any additional religious leaders in my family tree, I have found many more details about the men listed here.  I’ve started my next writing project, a short book about my religious and military ancestors, called Bibles and Bullets.  And I’m also working on another book about my wife’s uncle, called Bibles and Bullets 2: The Story of Father Joe. Thanks for your feedback and comments on my original idea!

Feel free to leave a comment, and please come back often – I write and post often!  And if you like what I have to say and how I say it, you’ll probably enjoy my novels as well.  They’re listed below, and you can read more about them on my improved website, designed and built by my son Don, http://www.randolphmase.com.  On my site, you’ll also find excerpts of my books that you can read – please check it out!  

Randolph Mase, Fiction Writer

https://www.amazon.com/author/randolphmase

http://www.facebook.com/MatthewHoganMysteries

http://twitter.com/randolphmase

My Novels:

Death on Broadway

Death Beneath the Streets

Death in Central Park

Death at The Cloisters

Death Inside Diamond Head

Death Under Jones Beach

Death Along the Hudson (under construction)

Nathan Hale

Bibles and Bullets (in research phase)

Leave a comment